The Writers Toolkit – Descriptive Adjectives

One would think after years of writing for school and simple communication, that the exercise of writing would be a breeze. It is not. Writing for a project is one thing, writing a technical paper is another, but writing a story–ah, therein lies the challenge. Unlike the previous forms of writing, story writing requires that the words on the page be evocative of some imagery. It is an exercise in creating a world that only you can see and distilling it down to descriptions that allow others to see just a fraction of the detail that your mind’s eye has taken in. Sometimes the words are not enough–the feeling and emotions that are wrapped up in a story may be of such intricate complexity that words seem to pale in comparison. I am learning from my short foray into the writing world that a good writer stays up on her descriptive adjectives. In describing how the plot of a story progresses, and how the players in the game interact with themselves and their environment, the understanding of the use of adjectives is ESSENTIAL. Enter http://descriptivewords.org/ — a tool that enables you to search for descriptive words by topic, letter, related words, etc. While this might be a bit limiting in scope (hey, you could always define a compound word in a way that suits the story you’re telling), it is a wonderful tool to keep in the writer’s toolbox. Keep imagining and for now and always, happy writing.

2 responses to “The Writers Toolkit – Descriptive Adjectives

  1. Thanks Femi. This should be a great tool. I am bummed that I was far more occupied than I had planned in Ghana such that I didn’t write when I get back can we have a designated day and time which stays constant for us to talk?

    With your busy schedule it might work

    Sent from my iPad

    • That sounds wonderful. Most likely for me that day will be Saturday. The upside is that I’ll be free anytime during the day. I’ve been running through a couple of writing excercises that I’ve not posted up on the blog yet, but I’ll show you a sample of what I have and we’ll discuss what our vision for this project is relative to what I’ve been thinking so far. Also, I was wondering whether you were able to procure some more stories. I realized in writing that I do not know what the average 7-14 year old’s reading level is. I read chapter books quite early and kept going for more and more complicated narratives. Right now I’m not sure what the scope of the vocabulary is for the modern child and what they expect from books they read. I think getting some feedback from you would help greatly…:)

Leave a comment